Alums Form Bulk of U.S. Select Team
Deutschland Cup will help USA Hockey assess candidates for 2018 Olympics.

Former Ferris State defenseman Chad Billins is currently with Linkoping HC in Sweden.

Jim Johansson, general manager of the 2018 U.S. Olympic Men’s Hockey Team, has made no secret about the importance of NCAA hockey and its alumni as he builds the roster.

The U.S. team that will compete at the 2017 Deutschland Cup certainly reflects that, with 26 of the 29 players named having played U.S. college hockey.

Participants, most of whom are playing in European professional leagues, will be in contention for the Olympic team to compete in February. The Olympic coaching staff, led by Wisconsin head coach Tony Granato, will coach in the Deutschlan Cup as well, with games set for Nov. 10, 11 and 12.

Eighteen schools have alumni on the roster, led by Yale with four representatives. St. Cloud State has three former players on the team, while Harvard, Denver and Wisconsin have two each.

Hobey Baker Award winners Matt Gilroy (Boston University) and Andy Miele (Miami) are among those selected.

“We’re excited about our roster for the Deutschland Cup,” Johansson said. “It should be an excellent tournament and will also be a good chance to help us in our Olympic preparation.”

Joining Granato on the coaching staff are Yale head coach Keith Allain, Chris Chelios, Ron Rolston and Scott Young. The four-team event features the U.S., Slovakia, Russia and host Germany.

2017 U.S. Men’s National Select Team
No. Name Pos. NCAA Alma Mater
2 Mike Lundin D Maine
3 Dylan Reese D Harvard
4 Mark Stuart D Colorado College
5 Matt Donovan D Denver
6 Jonathan Blum D  
7 Matt Gilroy D Boston University
8 Noah Welch D Harvard
9 Garrett Roe F St. Cloud State
10 Robbie Earl F Wisconsin
11 Ryan Lasch F St. Cloud State
12 Ryan Malone F St. Cloud State
13 Ryan Gunderson D Vermont
14 Tom Gilbert F Wisconsin
15 Drew Shore F Denver
16 Sean Backman F Yale
17 Broc Little F Yale
18 Dan Sexton F Bowling Green
19 Jim Slater F Michigan State
21 Brian Gionta F Boston College
22 Brian O’Neill F Yale
24 Andy Miele F Miami
25 Chad Kolarik F Michigan
26 Mark Arcobello F Yale
27 Bobby Sanguinetti D  
28 Chad Billins D Ferris State
29 Ryan Stoa F Minnesota
30 Ryan Zapolski G Mercyhurst
31 Brandon Maxwell G  
35 David Leggio G Clarkson