Senior CLASS Candidates Named
20 candidates represent all six Division I conferences.

Harvard’s Merrick Madsen led the Crimson to the 2017 Frozen Four (Photo by Gil Talbot).

Twenty players from across the country with track records of excellence on and off the ice have been named candidates for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award.

The candidates represent 20 schools and all six Division I conferences. Included in the group are the nation’s top two active career scorers (Robert Morris’s Brady Ferguson and Notre Dame’s Jake Evans) and three returning first-team all-conference selections (Ferguson, Bemidji State’s Michael Bitzer and Bowling Green’s Mitch McLain).

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award honors achievement in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award encourages student-athletes to use their platforms in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February. A winner will be selected from those finalists by a nationwide voting system of media, coaches and fans, and will be announced at the 2018 Frozen Four in St. Paul.

2017-18 Senior CLASS Award Candidates
Name Position School
Dylan Abood D Air Force
Louie Belpedio D Miami
Michael Bitzer G Bemidji State
Tim Davison D Wisconsin
Andrew Dorantes F Ferris State
Jake Evans F Notre Dame
Brady Ferguson F Robert Morris
Carson Gatt D Michigan State
Karson Kuhlman F Minnesota Duluth
Sam Lafferty F Brown
Alfred Larsson F Merrimack
Merrick Madsen G Harvard
Mitch McLain F Bowling Green
Brady Norrish D RIT
Judd Peterson F St. Cloud State
Tyler Pham F Army West Point
Sam Piazza D Michigan
Austin Poganski F North Dakota
Ryan Schmelzer F Canisius
Jared Wilson D Rensselaer