Alums Fill All-Star Rosters
AHL, ECHL to showcase dozens of former NCAA stars.

Ohio State alum Tanner Fritz, who made his NHL debut this week, ranks fourth in AHL scoring.

The AHL and ECHL will feature dozens of former NCAA players in their respective all-star games, as both leagues announced their rosters on Thursday.

Forty-one former NCAA players were selected between the two leagues – 21 in the AHL and 20 in the ECHL. Together they represent half of all Division I programs: 30 of 60.

Both leagues have four teams participating in their all-star games, organized by division and competing in a 3-on-3 format like the NHL All-Star Game.

AHL All-Star Classic

The AHL rosters feature five or six NCAA alumni on each of the four divisional teams, making up 44% of all players selected. Among the headliners are AHL leading scorer Chris Bourque (Boston University) and rookies Cal Petersen (Notre Dame) and C.J. Smith (UMass Lowell).

Miami leads all schools with four alumni named to the AHL All-Star Classic, which will be held Jan. 28-29 in Utica, N.Y. North Dakota, Notre Dame and Providence each had two representatives selected.

ECHL All-Star Classic

The ECHL All-Star Classic, set for Jan. 15 in Indianapolis, will feature 20 NCAA alumni, making up 71% of all players. Selections include top rookie scorer Justin Danforth (Sacred Heart) and fellow rookie Shane Starrett (Air Force).

Denver and Minnesota Duluth each have two former players selected to the ECHL All-Star Classic; sixteen other schools have one representative each.

Cornell, Minnesota Duluth and Wisconsin are the three schools with former players selected in both the AHL and ECHL all-star games.

Alumni in AHL All-Star Classic
Atlantic Division
Chris Bourque Hershey Bears Boston University
Austin Czarnik Providence Bruins Miami
Tanner Fritz Bridgeport Sound Tigers Ohio State
John Gilmour Hartford Wolf Pack Providence
Casey DeSmith Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins New Hampshire

North Division
Matthew Peca Syracuse Crunch Quinnipiac
C.J. Smith Rochester Americans UMass Lowell
Jacob MacDonald Binghamton Devils Cornell
Matt Taormina Laval Rocket Providence
Thatcher Demko Utica Comets Boston College

Central Division
Vinnie Hinostroza Rockford IceHogs Notre Dame
Luke Kunin Iowa Wild Wisconsin
Matt Lorito Grand Rapids Griffins Brown
Brandon Pirri Chicago Wolves Rensselaer
Jack Roslovic Manitoba Moose Miami
Cameron Schilling Manitoba Moose Miami

Pacific Division
Rocco Grimaldi San Antonio Rampage North Dakota
Curtis McKenzie Texas Stars Miami
Jordan Schmaltz San Antonio Rampage North Dakota
Andy Welinski San Diego Gulls Minnesota Duluth
Cal Petersen Ontario Reign Notre Dame
Alumni in ECHL All-Star Classic
North Division
Woody Hudson Worcester Railers St. Lawrence
Alex Krushelnyski Reading Royals Colorado College
Ty Loney Adirondack Thunder Denver
Joel Lowry Manchester Monarchs Cornell
Cody Wydo Wheeling Nailers Robert Morris

South Division
Martin Ouellette Florida Everblades Maine
Christopher Dienes Jacksonville Icemen Western Michigan
Nolan Valleau Orlando Solar Bears Bowling Green
Grant Besse Norfolk Admirals Wisconsin
Taylor Cammarata South Carolina Stingrays Minnesota
Caleb Herbert Greenville Swamp Rabbits Minnesota Duluth

Central Division
Pat Nagle Toledo Walleye Ferris State
Kyle Bushee Kalamazoo Wings Canisius
Willie Raskob Quad City Mallards Minnesota Duluth
Justin Danforth Cincinnati Cyclones Sacred Heart
Mike McMurtry Kansas City Mavericks Northeastern

Mountain Division
Shane Starrett Wichita Thunder Air Force
David Makowski Allen Americans Denver
Cliff Watson Utah Grizzlies Michigan Tech
Justin Parizek Idaho Steelheads Omaha