Top 10 Hobey Finalists Named
All six conferences represented among finalists.

Northeastern’s Adam Gaudette leads the nation in goals (30) and points (59).

The top 10 candidates for college hockey’s highest individual honor, the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, were announced Wednesday for 2018.

The finalists, who include eight players competing for conference championships this weekend, are:

  • Henrik Borgström, So., F, Denver (FLA)
  • Ryan Donato, Jr., F, Harvard (BOS)
  • Matthew Galajda, Fr., G, Cornell
  • Adam Gaudette, Jr., F, Northeastern (VAN)
  • Dylan McLaughlin, Jr., F, Canisius
  • Cale Morris, So., G, Notre Dame
  • Colton Point, So., G, Colgate (DAL)
  • Jimmy Schuldt, Jr., D, St. Cloud State
  • Dylan Sikura, Sr., F, Northeastern (CHI)
  • C.J. Suess, Sr., F, Minnesota State (WPG)

The finalists were selected by voting of all 60 Division I head coaches and online fan balloting. A 27-member selection committee will determine the 2018 Hobey Baker Award winner, along with another round of online fan voting.

Hobey Baker Award

Criteria for the award include outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements. The Hobey Hat Trick (top three finalists) will be announced March 29, with the winner revealed on Friday, April 6, in St. Paul, Minn.

The finalists include six forwards, one defenseman and three goaltenders. Two are seniors, four are juniors, three are sophomores and one is a freshman. Six of the 10 have been drafted by an NHL team. None of the 10 were a finalist last year, when Denver’s Will Butcher took home the honor.