10 Named Richter Semifinalists
Award honors top goaltender in Division I.

Vermont junior Stefanos Lekkas posted a .930 save percentage in 2018-19.

Five conferences and one independent are represented among the 10 semifinalists for the 2019 Mike Richter Award, which were revealed Thursday. The annual award honors the top Division I men’s goaltender.

Last year’s winner, Notre Dame’s Cale Morris (Larkspur, Colo./Waterloo-USHL), is among the semifinalists and could become the first two-time winner in the award’s six-year history.

Other semifinalists include:

  • National save percentage leader Andrew Shortridge (Anchorage, Alaska/Vernon-BCHL) of Quinnipiac
  • National wins leader Jake Kielly (Eden Prairie, Minn./Tri-City-USHL) of Clarkson
  • National shutout leaders Joey Daccord (Boston, Mass./Muskegon-USHL/OTT) of Arizona State and Hayden Hawkey (Parker, Colo./Omaha-USHL/EDM) of Providence
  • Defending national champion Hunter Shepard (Cohasset, Minn./Bismarck-NAHL) of Minnesota Duluth.

Five finalists for the 2019 Mike Richter Award will be announced March 28, with the winner celebrated on Friday, April 12, at the Frozen Four in Buffalo.

2019 Mike Richter Award Semifinalists
Joey Daccord Arizona State
Hayden Hawkey Providence
Jake Kielly Clarkson
Stefanos Lekkas Vermont
Dryden McKay Minnesota State
Cale Morris Notre Dame
Tommy Nappier Ohio State
Cayden Primeau Northeastern
Hunter Shepard Minnesota Duluth
Andrew Shortridge Quinnipiac