Makar Leads Award Honorees
Hobey Baker Award winner is the first from UMass.

Cale Makar enters the NCAA championship game one point off the national scoring lead (Photo by Matt Dewkett).

On the eve of the national championship game, Massachusetts sophomore defenseman Cale Makar captured the 2019 Hobey Baker Award as the top player this year in college hockey.

Makar’s honor headlined the Friday at the Frozen Four awards ceremony at Buffalo’s HarborCenter. Also honored:

  • Mike Richter Award: Cayden Primeau, Northeastern
  • Hockey Humanitarian Award: Jake Bunz, Wisconsin
  • Tim Taylor National Rookie of the Year: Joel Farabee, Boston University
  • Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award: Brendon Kearney, Ohio State
  • AHCA All-America Teams – listed below

Makar enters the national championship game with 49 points, one shy of the national scoring lead. He beat out two other defensemen, Harvard’s Adam Fox and St. Cloud State’s Jimmy Schuldt, who were the other members of the Hobey Hat Trick.

The Calgary native was also named a first-team All-American along with teammate Mitchell Chaffee. St. Cloud State led all schools with four All-America selections.

Wisconsin’s Jake Bunz claimed the Hockey Humanitarian Award as “college hockey’s finest citizen.” After a mission trip to benefit an orphanage in Haiti, Bunz became actively involved in the development of the Fond Blanc Foundation to further assist the orphanage.

“As we got on the bus to leave, I’m seeing all the kids and it just hit me, we’re going to go back and live this comfortable life back in the States and nothing is going to change for these kids,” Bunz said. “They’re going to stay in these same conditions. I looked at my mom and said, ‘You always told us not to turn our head from people in need. We need to do something about this.’ That was the catalyst and when the foundation started.”

2019 AHCA All-Americans
First Team East CCM Hockey All-Americans
Cayden Primeau, SO, Northeastern University
(Voorhees, NJ)
Adam Fox, JR, Harvard University*#
(Jericho, NY)
Cale Makar, SO, University of Massachusetts
(Calgary, AB)
Mitchell Chaffee, SO, University of Massachusetts
(Rockford, MI)
Ryan Kuffner, SR, Princeton University @
(Ottawa, ON)
Nico Sturm, JR, Clarkson University
(Augsburg, Germany)
Second Team East CCM Hockey All-Americans
Andrew Shortridge, JR, Quinnipiac University
(Anchorage, AK)
Jeremy Davies, JR, Northeastern University#
(Sainte Anne-de-Bellevue, QC)
Joseph Duszak, JR, Mercyhurst University
(Franklin Square, NY)
Blake Christensen, JR, American International College
(Coral Springs, FL)
David Cotton, JR, Boston College
(Parker, TX)
Josh Wilkins, JR, Providence College
(Raleigh, NC)
First Team West CCM Hockey All-Americans
Hunter Shepard, JR, University of Minnesota Duluth
(Cohasset, MN)
Quinn Hughes, SO, University of Michigan
(Orlando, FL)
Jimmy Schuldt, SR, St. Cloud State University
(Minnetonka, MN)
Taro Hirose, JR, Michigan State University
(Calgary, AB)
Patrick Newell, SR, St. Cloud State University
(Thousand Oaks, CA)
Rem Pitlick, JR, University of Minnesota
(Plymouth, MN)
Second Team West CCM Hockey All-Americans
Joey Daccord, JR, Arizona State University
(North Andover, MA)
Jack Ahcan, JR, St. Cloud State University
(Savage, MN)
Bobby Nardella, SR, University of Notre Dame
(Rosemont, IL)
Scott Perunovich, SO, University of Minnesota Duluth#
Hibbing, MN)
Mason Jobst, SR, The Ohio State University%
(Speedway, IN)
Blake Lizotte, SO, St. Cloud State University
(Lindstrom, MN)
Troy Loggins, SR, Northern Michigan University
(Huntington Beach, CA)
# First Team in 2017-18; @ Second Team in 2017-18
* First Team in 2016-17; % Second Team in 2016-17