Commits Named to U.S. Select Team
USHL stars to represent U.S. in World Junior A Challenge.

Harvard commit Sean Farrell leads the USHL in scoring with 23 points through 16 games (Photo by Chicago Steel).

Twenty Division I commits were named to the U.S. Junior Select Team that will compete in the 2019 World Junior A Challenge from Dec. 7-15 in Dawson Creek, B.C. USA Hockey announced the team, which consists of 21 players currently in the USHL, on Tuesday.

USA Hockey Announcement

Fourteen schools have commits on the roster. Harvard (3), Minnesota (3), Michigan (2) and Notre Dame (2) each boast multiple future players on the team.

The roster features three returnees from last year’s team that won the World Junior A Challenge: Connor Caponi (Waterloo/Denver), Mitch Miller (Tri-City/North Dakota) and Grant Silianoff (Cedar Rapids/Notre Dame).

The U.S. Junior Select Team will be coached by the same group as a year ago, led by head coach Anthony Nordeen of the Tri-City Storm. Nordeen’s assistants will be Mark Abalan (Sioux City), Shane Fukushima (Waterloo) and David Wilkie (Omaha). The staff returns after leading the U.S. to its eighth championship in 12 appearances in the World Junior A Challenge.

The U.S. will face Canada East in a pre-tournament exhibition game on Thursday, Dec. 5, before opening competition on Saturday, Dec. 7, against Canada West at 9 p.m. ET.

2019 U.S. Junior Select Team
No. Name Pos. Current Team NCAA Commitment
1 Logan Stein G Waterloo Ferris State
2 Mitch Miller D Tri-City North Dakota
4 Luke Reid D Chicago Uncommitted
5 Michael Koster D Tri-City Minnesota
7 Rhett Pitlick F Omaha Minnesota
9 Grant Silianoff F Cedar Rapids Notre Dame
10 Nolan Krenzen D Sioux City Omaha
11 Ben Meehan D Cedar Rapids UMass Lowell
12 Ryder Rolston F Waterloo Notre Dame
13 Gunnarwolfe Fontaine F Chicago Northeastern
14 Alex Leferriere F Des Moines Harvard
15 Jack Millar D Cedar Rapids Colorado College
16 Trevor Kuntar F Youngstown Harvard
17 Connor Caponi F Waterloo Denver
18 Matt Knies F Tri-City Minnesota
19 Brendan Brisson F Chicago Michigan
21 Sean Farrell F Chicago Harvard
22 Christian Berger D Omaha Penn State
23 Josh Lopina F Lincoln Massachusetts
24 Josh Groll F Lincoln Michigan
30 Ethan Haider G Sioux City Clarkson