Ten Hobey Finalists Named
Top players for 2019-20 season honored.

Jack Dugan led the nation in scoring with 52 points in 2019-20 (Photo by Matt Dewkett).

The shortened 2019-20 season will not keep the Hobey Baker Award from honoring the nation’s top player, as the 10 finalists for the award were revealed Wednesday.

The finalists for college hockey’s top individual honor, which will be awarded April 10, are:

  • Morgan Barron, Jr., F, Cornell
  • Jason Cotton, Sr., F, Sacred Heart
  • Jack Dugan, So., F, Providence
  • David Farrance, Jr., D, Boston University
  • Jordan Kawaguchi, Jr., F, North Dakota
  • John Leonard, Jr., F, Massachusetts
  • Dryden McKay, So., G, Minnesota State
  • Marc Michaelis, Sr., F, Minnesota State
  • Scott Perunovich, Jr., D, Minnesota Duluth
  • Jeremy Swayman, Jr., G, Maine

The 10 finalists were selected by voting from all 60 Division I men’s head coaches plus online fan balloting. Next, the 29-member selection committee and an additional round of fan balloting at hobeybaker.com will determine the 2020 Hobey Baker Award winner.

Hobey Baker Award

Criteria for the award include outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The finalists include:

  • Representatives of five conferences and nine schools, with Minnesota State boasting a pair (McKay, Michaelis)
  • Two seniors, six juniors and two sophomores
  • Six forwards, two defensemen and two goaltenders
  • Seven Americans, two Canadians and one German

The Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists will be revealed on April 2, with the winner announced on Friday, April 10.