Perunovich Leads Award Honorees
Minnesota Duluth defenseman claims Hobey Baker Award.

Scott Perunovich earned All-America honors in each of his three collegiate seasons (Photo by Matt Dewkett).

After winning national championships in each of his last two seasons, Minnesota Duluth’s Scott Perunovich took home the nation’s highest individual honor when he was named the 2020 Hobey Baker Award winner Saturday night.

College hockey’s top honors were revealed Saturday night on SportsCenter by ESPN’s John Buccigross, who typically would have been calling the national championship game in Detroit had the season not been cut short. Other award winners:

  • Mike Richter Award: Jeremy Swayman, Maine
  • Hockey Humanitarian Award: Amanda Conger, Saint Anselm
  • Tim Taylor National Rookie of the Year: Alex Newhook, Boston College
  • Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award: Jared Pike, American International
  • AHCA All-America Teams – listed below

Perunovich, a junior defenseman from Hibbing, Minn., finished the season with a career-high 40 points in 34 games, with a +18 rating. He stood tied for 10th nationally in scoring and second among defensemen. He has agreed to terms with the NHL’s St. Louis Blues.

Perunovich becomes the second defenseman in a row and third in four years to win the Hobey, following Cale Makar (2019) and Will Butcher (2017). He is Minnesota Duluth’s sixth Hobey Baker Award winner.

Perunovich earned All-America honors for the third time, landing on the West’s first team. Eleven schools were represented in the 12 first-team All-America spots, with only Minnesota State boasting two honorees (Dryden McKay and Marc Michaelis).

Maine’s Jeremy Swayman, the first-team East All-America goaltender, claims the Mike Richter Award as the nation’s top netminder for 2019-20. Swayman faced more shots than any goaltender in the nation and produced the nation’s second-best save percentage (.939).

2020 AHCA All-Americans
First Team East CCM Hockey All-Americans
Jeremy Swayman, JR, University of Maine
(Anchorage, AK)
David Farrance, JR, Boston University
(Victor, NY)
Jack Rathbone, SO, Harvard University
(West Roxbury, MA)
Morgan Barron, JR, Cornell University
(Halifax, NS)
Jack Dugan, SO, Providence College
(Rochester, NY)
John Leonard, JR, University of Massachusetts
(Amherst, MA)
Second Team East CCM Hockey All-Americans
Frank Marotte, SR, Clarkson University
(Longueuil, PQ)
Yanni Kaldis, SR, Cornell University
(Montreal, PQ)
Mike Lee, SR, Sacred Heart University
(Hamden, CT)
Nick Abruzzese, FR. Harvard University
(Slate Hill, NY))
Jason Cotton, SR, Sacred Heart University
(Parker, TX)
Tyler Madden, SO, Northeastern University
(Deerfield Beach, FL)
First Team West CCM Hockey All-Americans
Dryden McKay, SO, Minnesota State University
(Downers Grove, IL)
Ian Mitchell, JR, University of Denver
(Calahoo, AB)
Scott Perunovich, JR, Univ. of Minnesota Duluth#**
(Hibbing, MN)
Jordan Kawaguchi, JR, University of North Dakota
(Abbotsford, BC)
Hugh McGing, SR, Western Michigan University
(Chicago, IL)
Marc Michaelis, SR, Minnesota State University
(Mannheim, Germany)
Second Team West CCM Hockey All-Americans
Hunter Shepard, SR, University of Minnesota Duluth*
(Cohasset, MN)
Cole Hults., JR, Penn State University
(Stoughton, WI)
Connor Mackey, JR, Minnesota State University
(Tower Lakes, IL)
Alec Rauhauser, SR, Bowling Green State University
(Bismarck, ND)
Noah Cates, SO, University of Minnesota Duluth
(Stillwater, MN)
Cole Koepke, SO, University of Minnesota Duluth
(Hermantown, MN)
Nate Sucese, SR, Penn State University
(Fairport, NY)
* First Team in 2018-19; ** Second Team in 2018-19; # First Team in 2017-18