23 Alums Medal at World Championship

Gustafsson claims gold with Sweden, while college-laden U.S. team captures bronze.
Paul Stastny
Paul Stastny, shown here playing at Denver, was named to the All-Tournament Team at the World Championship.

Former Northern Michigan star Erik Gustaffson scored Sweden's first goal in the gold medal game at the IIHF World Championship Sunday and helped lift the Swedes to the championship in front of their fans in Stockholm.

Gustafsson, a two-time CCHA Best Offensive Defenseman at NMU, scored at 8:42 of the first period to tie the score, 1-1, again st Switzerland. Sweden never loked back and won gold, 5-1.

IIHF site | USA Hockey Site

Earlier in the day 22 other former college players claimed bronze medals as members of the United States team that defeated Finland, 3-2 in a shootout. It marked the first medal for the U.S. at the World Championship since 2004 and only the third since 1963.

Two WCHA alums - Paul Stastny (Denver) and Craig Smith (Wisconsin) - formed a dangerous combination for the Americans, with Stastny finishing second in tournament scoring with 15 points and Smith trailing by just one, with 14.

All-Tournament Honors

Stastny was named to the All-Tournament team by the media, while Stastny, Smith and former Minnesota Duluth national champion Justin Faulk were named Team USA's three best players of the tournament.

In all, 22 of the 25 Americans in the tournament were former college players, and they were led by former BU star Joe Sacco as head coach. The team's top eight scorers were all former college players, and 32 of the team's 35 goals were scored by NCAA alums.

Four players on Team USA played college hockey this season: Nick Bjugstad, Danny Kristo, Drew LeBlanc and Jacob Trouba.


College Players Who Medaled at the World Champ.
Gold D Erik Gustafsson Northern Michigan
Bronze G Ben Bishop Maine
Bronze G Cal Heeter Ohio State
Bronze D Chris Butler Denver
Bronze D Matt Carle Denver
Bronze D Justin Faulk Minnesota Duluth
Bronze D Matt Hunwick Michigan
Bronze D Erik Johnson Minnesota
Bronze D Jamie McBain Wisconsin
Bronze D Jeff Petry Michigan State
Bronze D Jake Trouba* Michigan
Bronze F Nick Bjugstad* Minnesota
Bronze F Bobby Butler New Hampshire
Bronze F Ryan Carter Minnesota State
Bronze F Stephen Gionta Boston College
Bronze F Danny Kristo* North Dakota
Bronze F Drew LeBlanc* St. Cloud State
Bronze F David Moss Michigan
Bronze F T.J. Oshie North Dakota
Bronze F Aaron Palushaj Michigan
Bronze F Craig Smith Wisconsin
Bronze F Tim Stapleton Minnesota Duluth
Bronze F Paul Stastny Denver
* Played in NCAA this season


© 2016 College Hockey, Inc. All Rights Reserved