5 Goalies Up for Richter Award

New award will honor top goaltender in college hockey.
Joel Rumpel is a finalist for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, named for the former Badger netminder.

Five finalists have been named for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, which will be presented to the top goaltender in Division I.

The finalists are:

  • Sam Brittain, Sr., Denver
  • Connor Hellebuyck, So., UMass Lowell
  • Joel Rumpel, Jr., Wisconsin
  • Adam Wilcox, So., Minnesota
  • Clay Witt, Jr., Northeastern

All five of the goaltenders have posted save percentages above .930 and rank in the top six nationally in that category. Three of the finalists have been drafted by NHL teams: Brittain (Florida), Hellebuyck (Winnipeg) and Wilcox (Tampa Bay).

The finalists were chosen by a committee of coaches, scouts and media members that will also determine the eventual winner. The winner will be announced at the Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

The award is named for former Wisconsin goaltender Mike Richter, who went on to star for U.S. national teams and the New York Rangers and later served as a volunteer coach at Yale.

© 2016 College Hockey, Inc. All Rights Reserved