Recruits Chase Championships

The Clark Cup, RBC Cup and Robertson Cup feature dozens of future college stars.
Surrey forward Drew Best is a Vermont recruit.

The fields are set for the Clark Cup, RBC Cup and Robertson Cup, as the USHL, CJHL and NAHL, respectively, prepare to crown their champions in the coming days.

Each of the three championships feature a number of future college players, from the 63 already committed to schools to others still hoping to catch the eye of a college recruiter. | | | College Commitments

Clark Cup - USHL

The Fargo Force travel to the Dubuque Fighting Saints Friday and Saturday for the first two games of the best-of-five Clark Cup finals. Dubuque, which won the Anderson Cup as the top team in the regular season, is led by new Denver head coach Jim Montgomery. The Fighting Saints boast 15 Division I commitments, while Fargo has 13 (listed below).

Dubuque: Matthew Benning (Northeastern), Frankie Dichiara (Yale), Michael Downing (Michigan), Keegan Ford (Wisconsin), A.J. Fossen (Clarkson), Eric Freschi (Cornell), Dylan Gambrell (Denver), Seamus Malone (Wisconsin), Kyle McKenzie (Providence), Niklas Nevalainen (St. Cloud State), Jarrid Privitera (Boston University), Peter Quenneville (Quinnipiac), John Stevens (Northeastern), Michael Szmatula (Northeastern), Jeff Taylor (Union)

Fargo: Nate Arentz (Bemidji State), Gavin Bayreuther (St. Lawrence), Michael Booth (Cornell), Chris Dienes (Western Michigan), Butrus Ghafari (Western Michigan), Gabe Guertler (Minnesota), David Gust (Ohio State), Brendan Harms (Bemidji State), Alexander Iafallo (Minnesota Duluth), Jordan Nelson (Minnesota State), Austin Ortega (Nebraska Omaha), Charlie Pelnick (North Dakota), Dominic Toninato (Minnesota Duluth)


Five teams from the CJHL's 10 Junior A leagues across Canada advance to the RBC Cup, held this year in Summerside, P.E.I.

The Surrey Eagles and Brooks Bandits, from the BCHL and AJHL, respectively, account for all 15 of the Division I commitments in the RBC Cup (listed below). Other teams in the event are the Minnesota Wilderness (SIJHL), the Truro Bearcats (MHL) and the host Summerside Western Capitals (MHL).

Surrey: Drew Best (Vermont), Demico Hannoun (Michigan Tech), Jordan Klimek (Northern Michigan), Brett Mulcahy (Holy Cross), Dan O'Keefe (Yale), Michael Stenerson (Vermont), Adam Tambellini (North Dakota), Devon Toews (Quinnipiac), Craig Wyszomirski (Merrimack)

Brooks: Patrick Lee (Massachusetts), Chris Muscoby (Vermont), Anthony Paskaruk (Clarkson), Anthony Petruzzelli (Vermont), Corey Scammon (UMass Lowell), Maddison Smiley (Massachusetts)

Robertson Cup - NAHL

The Robertson Cup, which determines the playoff champion of the NAHL, will be held May 10-13 at the Dr. Pepper Arena in Frisco, Texas. The four division champions in the NAHL advance to the Robertson Cup, with the Amarillo Bulls, Bismarck Bobcats, Jamestown Ironmen and Wenatchee Wild making up the 2013 field.

The teams will play a round-robin format on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, with the top two teams after the round-robin facing off Monday in the championship game.

Each of the four participating teams features at least two Division I commits, led by Amarillo with 11 (full list below).

In conjunction with the Robertson Cup, the NA3HL and NAPHL will both showcase their respective Top Prospects Tournaments, with 160 of the top players from those leagues competing in four games each.

Amarillo: Paul Berrafato (Holy Cross), Clint Carlisle (Army), Tyler Deresky (Bentley), Brady Ferguson (Robert Morris), Geoff Fortman (Canisius), Joe Grabowski (Princeton), Hampus Gustafsson (Merrimack), Garret Peterson (Army), John Rey (Robert Morris), Tyler Rostenkowski (Air Force), Thomas Sarcona (Niagara)

Bismarck: Mike Dockry (Army), Bob Kinne (Bemidji State), Matthew Pohlkamp (Bowling Green)

Jamestown: Ryan Doucet (Air Force), Luc Gerdes (Colorado College), Reid Mimmack (Bemidji State), Dylan Zink (UMass Lowell)

Wenatchee: Jonathan Davis (Nebraska Omaha), Josh Hartley (Dartmouth)

© 2016 College Hockey, Inc. All Rights Reserved