Stat Pack: Goal Margin and More

Top goal margins, importance of power plays and first-period stars in the spotlight.
Despite having their 13-game unbeaten streak snapped, Matthew Peca and Quinnipiac still rank third in average goal margin nationally (Photo by Larry Radloff).

In our Stat Pack feature, College Hockey Inc. highlights five obscure but telling statistics from the world of college hockey. You can find all of these, and many more, in our filtered stats database.

1. When Quinnipiac hosts Providence Wednesday two of the nation’s top four teams in goal differential will be facing off:

Best Goal Margin Per Game
+2.00 – Minnesota
+1.85 – Boston College
+1.80 – Quinnipiac
+1.77 – Providence
+1.75 – St. Cloud State
+1.38 – Ferris State


2. Five schools are getting at least half of their offense from their power play:

Pct. of GF that are PPGs
57.7% – Massachusetts
55.9% – Denver
50.0% – Alaska Anchorage, Cornell, Dartmouth
43.2% – UMass Lowell
42.4% – Northern Michigan
42.3% – Sacred Heart


3. A holiday weekend means lots of non-conference action ahead. Here are the highest scoring players in non-conference action:

Best Non-Conference Points Per Game
2.67 – Mark Naclerio, Brown (3 GP)
2.14 – Johnny Gaudreau, BC (CGY draft; 7 GP)
2.00 – Joel Lowry, Cornell (LA draft; 2 GP)
Brian Ferlin, Cornell (BOS draft; 2 GP)
John McCarron, Cornell (EDM draft; 2 GP)
Kevin Roy, Northeastern (ANA draft; 6 GP)
Austin Czarnik, Miami (8 GP)
1.88 – Riley Barber, Miami (WSH draft; 8 GP)


4. Which goalies are helping their teams get off to fast starts?

Best First-Period Save Pct. (Min. 3 GP)
1.000 – Steve Racine, Michigan
.971 – Matt McNeely, Minnesota Duluth
.967 – Scott Diebold, Rensselaer
.967 – Zach Nagelvoort, Michigan
.965 – Tomas Sholl, Bowling Green
.964 – Hunter Leisner, AIC


5. A look at some of the nation's most unselfish players, led by Union forward Kevin Sullivan - who had 10 assists all of last year:

Most Assists without Scoring a Goal
13 – Kevin Sullivan, Union
12 – Steve Weinstein, Bentley
11 – Mat Bodie, Union
10 – Michael Young, UNO
9 – Ralfs Freibergs, BGSU

© 2016 College Hockey, Inc. All Rights Reserved