U.S. Names Junior Camp Roster

30 current and future college players among those competing for World Junior roster spots.
Matt Grzelcyk is joined by BU classmates Matt Lane and Dan O'Regan on the U.S. Junior Evaluation Camp roster.

Thirty current and future college hockey players are among the 40 players invited to USA Hockey's National Junior Evaluation Camp, Aug. 3-10 in Lake Placid, N.Y.

The players, who will be auditioning for spots on the U.S. National Junior Team that will be defending the U.S.'s gold medal at the World Junior Championship, include current players or commitments representing 16 NCAA Division I schools. The roster does not include goaltenders, whose invitations will be announced later this month.

USA Hockey Release | Commitments

Minnesota leads all schools with five representatives on the roster, followed by Michigan (four), Boston University (three), and Boston College, Denver, North Dakota and Notre Dame (two each). Golden Gopher head coach Don Lucia will coach the U.S. team, with assistance from St. Cloud State head coach Bob Motzko, Boston College assistant coach Greg Brown, Denver assistant coach David Lassonde and Yale assistant coach Dan Muse.

Eleven of the selections were freshmen in college last season. Eighteen will be freshmen this fall, with one more planning to enroll in 2014.

The camp, which will be held at Lake Placid's Olympic Center utilizing the 1980 Herb Brooks Arena, includes practices and international games against Canada, Finland and Sweden. A full schedule is below. Tickets can be purchased online at WhiteFaceLakePlacid.com, by phone at (518) 523-3330 or in person at the Olympic Center Box Office. 

College Players on U.S. National Junior Evaluation Camp Roster

Gage Ausmus North Dakota*
Mike Brodzinski Minnesota*
Will Butcher Denver*
Connor Clifton Quinnipiac*
Matt Grzelcyk Boston University
Ian McCoshen Boston College*
Brett Pesce New Hampshire
Steve Santini Boston College*
Brady Skjei Minnesota
Keaton Thompson North Dakota*
Tommy Vannelli Minnesota*
Riley Barber Miami
Taylor Cammarata Minnesota*
J.T. Compher Michigan*
Andrew Copp Michigan
Thomas DiPauli Notre Dame
Hudson Fasching Minnesota*
Jake Guentzel Nebraska-Omaha*
John Hayden Yale#
Vince Hinostroza Notre Dame*
Nic Kerdiles Wisconsin
Matt Lane Boston University
Michael McCarron Western Michigan*
Tyler Motte Michigan*
Cristoval Nieves Michigan
Dan O'Regan Boston University
Quentin Shore Denver
Zach Stepan Minnesota State*
Dominic Toninato Minnesota Duluth*
* Enrolling this fall
# Enrolling fall 2014


© 2016 College Hockey, Inc. All Rights Reserved