Hobey Baker Award

One of the greatest college hockey seasons in recent memory was celebrated April 11 when Boston College forward Johnny Gaudreau was presented with the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, given annually to the nation's outstanding Division I men's college hockey player.
This marks the 34th time the award has been presented by The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation. Past winners in the Hobey's storied history include Ryan Miller, Paul Kariya and Neal Broten.
Three finalists are selected from an initial list of ten candidates by the 23-member Selection Committee and an additional round of online fan balloting to determine the Hobey Baker winner. Criteria for the award includes: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

Hobey Baker was the legendary Princeton hockey player known as America's greatest amateur athlete one hundred years ago. He redefined how the game was played with his coast-to-coast dashes in an era when hockey was contested with seven players and no forward passes. Baker died testing a repaired aircraft at the end of World War I after he had completed his military service.

Gaudreau posted NCAA-leading numbers in goals (36), assists (44) and points (80) while leading Boston College to the Hockey East regular-season championship and an appearance in the Frozen Four. The junior from Carneys Point, N.J., signed with the NHL's Calgary Flames moments after accepting the trophy and made his NHL debut two days later.


2014 - Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College
2013 - Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State

2012 - Jack Connolly, Minnesota Duluth
2011 - Andy Miele, Miami
2010 - Blake Geoffrion, Wisconsin
2009 - Matt Gilroy, Boston University
2008 - Kevin Porter, Michigan
2007 - Ryan Duncan, North Dakota
2006 - Matt Carle, Denver
2005 - Marty Sertich, Colorado College
2004 - Junior Lessard, Minnesota Duluth
2003 - Peter Sejna, Colorado College
2002 - Jordan Leopold, Minnesota
2001 - Ryan Miller, Michigan State
2000 - Mike Mottau, Boston College
1999 - Jason Krog, New Hampshire
1998 - Chris Drury, Boston University
1997 - Brendan Morrison, Michigan
1996 - Brian Bonin, Minnesota
1995 - Brian Holzinger, Bowling Green
1994 - Chris Marinucci, Minnesota Duluth
1993 - Paul Kariya, Maine
1992 - Scott Pellerin, Maine
1991 - David Emma, Boston College
1990 - Kip Miller, Michigan State
1989 - Lane MacDonald, Harvard
1988 - Robb Stauber, Minnesota
1987 - Tony Hrkac, North Dakota
1986 - Scott Fusco, Harvard
1985 - Bill Watson, Minnesota Duluth
1984 - Tom Kurvers, Minnesota Duluth
1983 - Mark Fusco, Harvard
1982 - George McPhee, Bowling Green
1981 - Neal Broten, Minnesota

© 2014 College Hockey, Inc. All Rights Reserved