34 Heading to Sochi
Representatives from 19 NCAA schools will compete in the Olympic men's hockey tournament.

Ralfs Freibergs will represent Latvia at the 2014 Olympics and be the only active NCAA player to take part in the Games.

Note: Updated Thursday to reflect the addition of Martin St. Louis (Vermont) to Canada's roster.

The addition of Maine alumnus Gustav Nyquist to the Swedish Olympic team brings the total number of NCAA representatives in the Olympic men's hockey tournament to 33, representing 19 schools.

Bowling Green defenseman Ralfs Freibergs and 32 former college hockey stars will take part in the tournament this month in Sochi, Russia, including 20 members of the U.S. Olympic team. Freibergs, a native of Riga, Latvia, is the only current NCAA player to be selected.

Austria has five former NCAA players on its roster, while Canada (four), Sweden (two), and Latvia (one) also have NCAA representation.

Minnesota and Wisconsin each have four alums in the tournament, while Maine, Michigan and North Dakota have three each.

NCAA Representatives in the 2014 Sochi Olympics

Country/Player Pos. Current Team NCAA Team
Mathias Lange G Iserlohn (GER) Rensselaer
Brian Lebler F EHC Linz (AUT) Michigan
Andreas Nodl F Red Bull Salzburg (AUT) St. Cloud State
Thomas Pock D KAC Klagenfurt (AUT) Massachusetts
Mattias Trattnig D Red Bull Salzburg (AUT) Maine
Thomas Vanek F NY Islanders (NHL) Minnesota
Duncan Keith D Chicago (NHL) Michigan State
Chris Kunitz F Pittsburgh (NHL) Ferris State
Patrick Sharp F Chicago (NHL) Vermont
Martin St. Louis F Tampa Bay (NHL) Vermont
Jonathan Toews F Chicago (NHL) North Dakota
Ralfs Freibergs D Bowling Green
Carl Hagelin F NY Rangers (NHL) Michigan
Gustav Nyquist F Detroit (NHL) Maine
United States
Jimmy Howard G Detroit (NHL) Maine
Ryan Miller G Buffalo (NHL) Michigan State
Jonathan Quick G Los Angeles (NHL) Massachusetts
Justin Faulk D Carolina (NHL) Minnesota Duluth
Paul Martin D Pittsburgh (NHL) Minnesota
Ryan McDonagh D NY Rangers (NHL) Wisconsin
Brooks Orpik D Pittsburgh (NHL) Boston College
Kevin Shattenkirk D St. Louis (NHL) Boston University
Ryan Suter D Minnesota (NHL) Wisconsin
David Backes F St. Louis (NHL) Minnesota State
Ryan Kesler F Vancouver (NHL) Ohio State
Phil Kessel F Toronto (NHL) Minnesota
T.J. Oshie F St. Louis (NHL) North Dakota
Max Pacioretty F Montreal (NHL) Michigan
Zach Parise F Minnesota (NHL) North Dakota
Joe Pavelski F San Jose (NHL) Wisconsin
Paul Stastny F Colorado (NHL) Denver
Derek Stepan F NY Rangers (NHL) Wisconsin
James van Riemsdyk F Toronto (NHL) New Hampshire
Blake Wheeler F Winnipeg (NHL) Minnesota

Olympians by NCAA School

Boston College: Brooks Orpik (US)

Boston University: Kevin Shattenkirk (US)

Bowling Green: Ralfs Freibergs (LAT)

Denver: Paul Stastny (US)

Ferris State: Chris Kunitz (CAN)

Maine: Jimmy Howard (US), Gustav Nyquist (SWE), Mattias Trattnig (AUT)

Massachusetts: Thomas Pock (AUT), Jonathan Quick (US)

Michigan: Carl Hagelin (SWE), Brian Lebler (AUT), Max Pacioretty (US)

Michigan State: Duncan Keith (CAN), Ryan Miller (US)

Minnesota: Phil Kessel (US), Paul Martin (US), Thomas Vanek (AUT), Blake Wheeler (US)

Minnesota Duluth: Justin Faulk (US)

Minnesota State: David Backes (US)

New Hampshire: James van Riemsdyk (US)

North Dakota: T.J. Oshie (US), Zach Parise (US), Jonathan Toews (CAN)

Ohio State: Ryan Kesler (US)

Rensselaer: Mathias Lange (AUT)

St. Cloud State: Andreas Nodl (AUT)

Vermont: Patrick Sharp (CAN), Martin St. Louis (CAN)

Wisconsin: Ryan McDonagh (US), Joe Pavelski (US), Derek Stepan (US), Ryan Suter (US)