Alums Set for AHL All-Star Classic
Eight former NCAA players set to take on Farjestad BK in unique two-day event.

Minnesota State alum Travis Morin leads the AHL in scoring at the All-Star break.

Eight former NCAA players are on the 22-player roster for the AHL All-Star Classic that will pit the top players in the AHL against visiting Farjestad BK of Sweden this week in St. John's, Newfoundland.

AHL Site | Broadcast Info

The two-day event features a Skills Competition on Tuesday and game on Wednesday, pitting the AHL All-Stars against one of the best teams from the Swedish Elite League. Former Ferris State player and Western Michigan head coach Jeff Blashill is one of the coaches for the AHL team.

His squad includes two former Boston College classmates, Brian Gibbons and Joe Whitney, who won two national championships with the Eagles, and two former Wisconsin teammates, Cody Goloubef and Ben Street. Other alums featured include AHL leading scorer Travis Morin (Minnesota State) and second-year pros Spencer Abbott (Maine) and Chad Billins (Ferris State). All eight of the former NCAA players named to the AHL roster have played at least one game in the NHL this season.

Former Hobey Baker Award winner Jack Connolly of Minnesota Duluth makes his return to North America as the lone NCAA alum on the Farjestad BK team.

NCAA Alums in AHL All-Star Classic

Name Current Team NCAA Team
Spencer Abbott Toronto Marlies Maine
Chad Billins Abbotsford Heat Ferris State
Brian Gibbons W-B/Scranton Penguins Boston College
Cody Goloubef Springfield Falcons Wisconsin
Travis Morin Texas Stars Minnesota State
Brandon Pirri Rockford IceHogs Rensselaer
Ben Street Abbotsford Heat Wisconsin
Joe Whitney Albany Devils Boston College
Jack Connolly Farjestad BK Minnesota Duluth