12 Alums Named to National Team
A number of former NCAA stars will compete at the World Championship for Team USA.

Jake McCabe (right) signed with the Buffalo Sabres following his season at Wisconsin (Photo by Larry Radloff).

Twelve former college stars are among the first 15 players named to the U.S. National Team that will compete in the 2014 World Championship, USA Hockey announced Tuesday.

USA Hockey Release

Three players - Kevin Hayes (Boston College), Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell) and Jake McCabe (Wisconsin) - are on the team shortly after completing their NCAA careers.

Other representatives include Hayes's brother, Jimmy, giving Boston College two representatives on the team. Wisconsin, with McCabe, Jake Gardiner and Craig Smith, leads all schools with three.

The general manager of Team USA is former Badger star Jim Johansson, while the coaching staff includes three former college players: Peter Laviolette (Westfield State), Don Granato (Wisconsin) and Joe Sacco (Boston University).

Former College Players on Team USA

Connor Hellebuyck UMass Lowell
Matt Donovan Denver
Jake Gardiner Wisconsin
Jake McCabe Wisconsin
Jeff Petry Michigan State
Jacob Trouba Michigan
Jimmy Hayes Boston College
Kevin Hayes Boston College
Brock Nelson North Dakota
Drew Shore Denver
Craig Smith Wisconsin
Tim Stapleton Minnesota Duluth