Yorkton Wins RBC Cup
Four commits among national champions in Canada's Junior A leagues.


The Yorkton Terriers toppled the Carleton Place Canadiens in overtime Sunday, 4-3, to capture the 2014 RBC Cup as Canada's Junior A national champions.

Four committed Division I prospects played for the Terriers, who won the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League:

  • Brady and Chase Norrish, RIT
  • Brett Boehm, Minnesota Duluth
  • Riley Hunt, Harvard

Yorkton scored twice in eight seconds late in the third period to erase a 3-1 Carleton Place lead, then Derek Falloon scored the overtime goal 15:01 into the extra session. Falloon, a 21-year-old, scored four goals all season but tallied two overtime goals at the RBC Cup to help lead the Terriers to the title.

Carleton Place represented the Central Canadian Hockey League and featured nine Division I commits. Three recruits - Brett D'Andrea (Bowling Green), Luke Edwards (Niagara) and Andrew Sturtz (Penn State) - shared the team lead in scoring with 6 points in 6 games at the RBC Cup.

The BCHL's Vernon Vipers hosted the 2014 RBC Cup, which also featured the Dauphin Kings (MJHL) and Toronto Lakeshore Patriots (OJHL).