10 Hobey Finalists Named
Boston College, Quinnipiac, Wisconsin each boast two finalists.

Boston University defenseman David Farrance is a Hobey finalist for the second year in a row.

Three schools – Boston College, Quinnipiac and Wisconsin – boast a pair of players among the 10 finalists for the 2021 Hobey Baker Award, announced Wednesday.

The 10 finalists for men’s college hockey’s top individual honor, which will be announced April 9, are:

  • Matt Boldy, So., F, Boston College
  • Cole Caufield, So., F, Wisconsin
  • David Farrance, Sr., D, Boston University
  • Dylan Holloway, So., F, Wisconsin
  • Spencer Knight, So., G, Boston College
  • Jack LaFontaine, Sr., G, Minnesota
  • Dryden McKay, Jr., G, Minnesota State
  • Keith Petruzzelli, Sr., G, Quinnipiac
  • Shane Pinto, So., F, North Dakota
  • Odeen Tufto, Sr., F, Quinnipiac

This marks the third time that three schools have had a pair of Hobey finalists in the same year (1989, ’96). It is the third time that four goaltenders have been finalists for the award (1994, 2005) and the first time that half of the finalists have been sophomores.

The 10 finalists were selected by votes of all 61 Division I head coaches plus online fan balloting.

Next, the 30-member selection committee and an additional round of fan balloting on hobeybaker.com March 18-28 will determine this year’s Hobey Baker Award winner.

Criteria for the award include: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Hat Trick (three finalists) will be announced April 1. The award announcement on April 9 will be televised live on NHL Network at 6 p.m. ET.