Olympic Men’s Hockey to Feature 56 Collegians
Nineteen current NCAA players among those rostered in Beijing

The entire U.S. roster is made up of current and former NCAA players (Photo: USA Hockey/Images On Ice)

Fifty-five current and former NCAA players, including 19 active college hockey standouts, will represent their countries at the 2022 Winter Olympics when the men’s hockey preliminary round begins Wednesday, February 9, in Beijing.

Nine of the 12 nations competing in the men’s tournament will have NCAA representation. The entire United States 26-man roster features past or present NCAA products, including 15 current college players, while Canada is next with 12 (four active).

Other countries with NCAA representatives include:

      6 – China
      3 – Denmark, Latvia, Sweden
      1 – Finland
      1 – Germany, Slovakia

Thirty-one different NCAA schools will be represented during the men’s tournament, topped by Michigan’s six players, followed by four each from Minnesota and St. Cloud State. Twelve schools will boast multiple players on Olympic rosters.

The preliminary round begins Wednesday with a trio of matchups: ROC vs. Switzerland (3:40 a.m. ET), Czech Republic vs. Denmark (8:10 a.m. ET), and Sweden vs. Latvia (11:10 p.m. ET).


F Daniel Carr (Union, 2010-14)
D John Gilmour* (Providence, 2012-16)
F Kent Johnson* (Michigan, 2020-present)
F Corban Knight (North Dakota, 2009-13)
G Devon Levi (Northeastern, 2021-present)
F Jack McBain (Boston College, 2018-present)
D Owen Power (Michigan, 2020-present)
D Mat Robinson (Alaska Anchorage, 2005-09)
F Ben Street (Wisconsin, 2005-10)
G Matt Tomkins (Ohio State, 2013-17)
F Max Véronneau* (Princeton, 2015-19)
F Daniel Winnik (New Hampshire, 2003-06)

* Asterisk denotes reserves


D Jake Chelios (Michigan State, 2010-14)
F Parker Foo (Union, 2017-20)
F Spencer Foo (Union, 2014-17)
F Cory Kane (Ferris State, 2010-14)
F Brandon Yip (Boston University, 2005-09)
F Wei “Peter” Zhong (Arizona State, 2018-21)




D Nicholas B. Jensen (Plattsburgh State, 2010-14)
D Oliver Lauridsen (St. Cloud State, 2008-11)
F Patrick Russell (St. Cloud State, 2014-16)


G Jussi Olkinuora (Denver, 2011-13)


F Frederik Tiffels (Western Michigan, 2014-17)


D Karlis Cukste (Quinnpiac, 2016-20)
D Ralfs Freibergs (Bowling Green, 2012-14)
D Jani Jaks (American International, 2016-20)

ROC (0)



G Matej Tomek (North Dakota, 2015-17; Omaha, 2018-19)


D Christian Folin (UMass-Lowell, 2012-14)
D Erik Gustafsson (Northern Michigan, 2007-10)
F Fredrik Olofsson (Omaha, 2015-19)




F Justin Abdelkader (Michigan State, 2005-08)
F Nick Abruzzese (Harvard, 2019-present)
F Kenny Agostino (Yale, 2010-14)
F Matty Beniers (Michigan, 2020-present)
F Brendan Brisson (Michigan, 2020-present)
F Noah Cates (Minnesota Duluth, 2018-present)
G Drew Commesso (Boston University, 2020-present)
D Brian Cooper (Omaha, 2012-16)
F Brock Faber (Minnesota, 2020-22)
F Sean Farrell (Harvard, 2021-present)
D Drew Helleson (Boston College, 2019-present)
F Sam Hentges (St. Cloud State, 2018-22)
D Steven Kampfer (Michigan, 2006-10)
F Matthew Knies (Minnesota, 2021-present)
G Strauss Mann (Michigan, 2018-21)
F Marc McLaughlin (Boston College, 2018-present)
F Ben Meyers (Minnesota, 2019-present)
F Andy Miele (Miami, 2007-11)
G Pat Nagle (Ferris State, 2007-11)
D Aaron Ness (Minnesota, 2008-11)
F Brian O’Neill (Yale, 2008-12)
D Nick Perbix (St. Cloud State, 2018-present)
D Jake Sanderson (North Dakota, 2020-present)
F Nick Shore (Denver, 2010-13)
F Nathan Smith (Minnesota State, 2019-present)
D David Warsofsky (Boston University, 2008-11)

This article was updated to reflect the addition of Justin Abdelkader to the United States roster.