College Hockey Inc.
Dual Winner Spooner Highlights Inaugural PWHL Awards
Former Buckeye Named League’s MVP, Forward of the Year

Wisconsin alum Kristen Campbell was named PWHL Goaltender of the Year (Photo: UW Athletics).

Former NCAA Division I hockey standouts were front and center Tuesday afternoon when the PWHL announced its inaugural individual award winners in Saint Paul.

PWHL Toronto’s Natalie Spooner, who starred at Ohio State from 2008-09 through 2011-12, was named the PWHL’s first ever recipient of the Billie Jean King MVP Award. She led the league in points (27), goals (20) and power-play goals (seven) in 24 regular-season games. Spooner was also named PWHL Forward of the Year.

Erin Ambrose, a member of Clarkson’s 2013-14 NCAA championship squad, was named PWHL Defender of the Year after collecting 18 points and a plus-5 rating in 24 games for PWHL Montreal.

Another former NCAA champion, Wisconsin alum Kristen Campbell, was tabbed the PWHL Goaltender of the Year. Campbell, who won a national championship with the Badgers in 2018-19, went 16-6-0 for PWHL Toronto this season and was the only netminder in the league with a double-digit win total. She also logged a 1.99 goals against average, a .927 save percentage and a league-leading three shutouts.

Grace Zumwinkle, who starred collegiately at Minnesota, was named PWHL Rookie of the Year for tallying 19 points in 24 games for PWHL Minnesota. After captaining the Golden Gophers in 2022-23, Zumwinkle transitioned to the professional ranks and helped PWHL Minnesota win the first-ever Walter Cup.

Former Northeastern and Providence standout Maureen Murphy, now with PWHL Minnesota, captured the PWHL’s Hockey for All Award for her volunteer work with health and wellness organizations in Montreal.

Additionally, the PWHL announced its first-ever all-star teams and its all-rookie team; all 18 selections were former college hockey players:

2024 PWHL 1st All-Star Team

G: Kristen Campbell, TOR (Wisconsin, North Dakota)
D: Erin Ambrose, MTL (Clarkson)
D: Ella Shelton, NY (Clarkson)
F: Natalie Spooner, TOR (Ohio State)
F: Marie-Philip Poulin, MTL (Boston University)
F: Alex Carpenter, NY (Boston College)

2024 PWHL 2nd All-Star Team

G: Aerin Frankel, BOS (Northeastern)
D: Megan Keller, BOS (Boston College)
D: Renata Fast, TOR (Clarkson)
F: Sarah Nurse, TOR (Wisconsin)
F: Grace Zumwinkle, MIN (Minnesota)
F: Brianne Jenner, OTT (Cornell)

2024 PWHL All-Rookie Team

G: Emma Söderberg, BOS (Minnesota Duluth)
D: Ashton Bell, OTT (Minnesota Duluth)
D: Sophie Jaques, MIN (Ohio State)
F: Emma Maltais, TOR (Ohio State)
F: Alina Müller, BOS (Northeastern)
F: Grace Zumwinkle, MIN (Minnesota)

For more information on today’s award recipients, visit