19 Alums Named ECHL All-Stars
Former college players will compete in All-Star Classic on Jan. 18 in Glens Falls, N.Y.

Former RIT captain Matt Garbowsky has 24 points in 32 games for the Colorado Eagles this season.

The 2017 ECHL All-Star Classic will have a distinct college feel, with NCAA alumni making up 19 of the 23 All-Star selections announced by the league Tuesday.

ECHL Announcement

The game - which will air live on NHL Network Jan. 18 - pits the ECHL All-Stars against the host Adirondack Thunder in a non-traditional format featuring 5-on-5, 4-on-4 and 3-on-3 play, plus a skills competition.

Six first-year pros are among the NCAA alumni selected to the event, while 16 schools are represented. Four alums were voted into the starting lineup: Chad Costello (Northeastern), Justin Agosta (Quinnipiac/New Hampshire), Jacob MacDonald (Cornell) and Jamie Phillips (Michigan Tech).

Cornell, Ferris State, Minnesota Duluth and New Hampshire each have two representatives among the alumni in the event.

NCAA Alumni Among ECHL All-Stars

Player NCAA Team
Chad Costello* Northeastern
Tony Cameranesi Minnesota Duluth
Justin Buzzeo Ferris State
Justin Crandall Minnesota Duluth
Matt Garbowsky RIT
John McCarron Cornell
Steven McParland Providence
Alex Wideman Miami
Justin Agosta* Quinnipiac/UNH
Jacob MacDonald* Cornell
Spiro Goulakos Colgate
Eric Knodel New Hampshire
Kevin Schulze Wisconsin
Kevin Tansey Clarkson
Travis Walsh Michigan State
Michael Young Omaha
Jamie Phillips* Michigan Tech
C.J. Motte Ferris State
Ty Loney# Denver
* Starters
# Adirondack representative will play for Thunder

Aaron Harstad Colorado College
Tanner Sorensen Michigan State