10 Named Richter Semifinalists
Five conference champions among candidates to be named nation’s top goalie

Denver’s Tanner Jaillet followed a Frozen Four appearance last year with an NCHC title as a junior.

Ten goaltenders representing five conferences have been named semifinalists for the 2017 Mike Richter Award, given annually to the nation’s top goalie.

The semifinalists include goaltenders in each class and from five regular-season conference champions. The full list:

Michael Bitzer Bemidji State Junior
Parker Gahagen Army Senior
Kyle Hayton St. Lawrence Junior
Tanner Jaillet Denver Junior
Merrick Madsen Harvard Junior
Hunter Miska Minnesota Duluth Freshman
Jake Oettinger Boston University Freshman
Cal Petersen Notre Dame Junior
Shane Starrett Air Force Sophomore
Charles Williams Canisius Senior

Five finalists for the fourth annual award will be announced on Thursday, March 23, with the winner presented on Friday, April 7, at the Frozen Four in Chicago.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The semifinalists, finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

- Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice

- Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university

- Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship

- Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season

- Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community