Nine Alums Named to Canada
Eight schools represented on Olympic roster for Hockey Canada.

Rene Bourque scored 57 goals as a Badger and has played 725 games in the NHL.

Nine former college stars representing eight schools have been named to Canada’s Men’s Olympic Team, Hockey Canada announced Thursday.

Eight of the nine currently play professionally in Europe, and seven have NHL experience since their college days.

20 NCAA Players on Team USA

Two first-team All-Americans – goaltender Ben Scrivens (Cornell) and defenseman Chay Genoway (North Dakota) – lead the group that will compete in the Olympic Winter Games this February in PyeongChang, South Korea.

Wisconsin placed two alumni on the roster in defenseman Cody Goloubef and forward Rene Bourque, making it 12 straight Olympic Games in which the Badgers have had an alumnus competing in men’s hockey.

Other schools represented are Alaska Anchorage (Mat Robinson), Michigan (Andrew Ebbett), Minnesota Duluth (Mason Raymond), Merrimack (Karl Stollery) and SUNY Potsdam (Chris Lee).

The Canadians will join a group of 20 current and former NCAA players named to the U.S. roster for PyeongChang. Ebbett could face a former Michigan teammate in Chad Kolarik, who was named to the U.S. team, though the teams aren’t scheduled to meet in the preliminary round.

NCAA Alumni on 2018 Canada Olympic Roster
Name Pos. Current Team NCAA Team
Rene Bourque F Djurgardens IF (SHL) Wisconsin
Andrew Ebbett F SC Bern (NLA) Michigan
Chay Genoway D Lada Togliatti (KHL) North Dakota
Cody Goloubef D Stockton (AHL) Wisconsin
Chris Lee D Metallurg Megnitogorsk (KHL) SUNY Potsdam
Mason Raymond F SC Bern (NLA) Minnesota Duluth
Mat Robinson D CSKA Moscow (KHL) Alaska Anchorage
Ben Scrivens G Salavat Yulaev Ufa (KHL) Cornell
Karl Stollery D Dinamo Riga (KHL) Merrimack