Alumni Prepare for Worlds
U.S. entry in World Championship a showcase for former NCAA stars.

Quinn Hughes returns for his second appearance in the World Championship.

Fifteen NCAA alumni are among the first 17 players named to the United States Men’s National Team that will compete at the 2019 IIHF World Championship.

The alums range in age from veteran Ryan Suter, who played at Wisconsin in 2003-04, to Quinn Hughes and Cayden Primeau, All-Americans this season for Michigan and Northeastern, respectively.

USA Hockey Site

In all, the 15 NCAA alumni represent nine schools, led by Boston College (four representatives), Michigan (three) and Boston University (two).

The 2019 World Championship will be held May 10-26 in Kosice and Bratislava, Slovakia. The U.S. has medaled in three of the last six World Championships, including the bronze medal last season.

The U.S. is led by a coaching staff comprised entirely of NCAA alumni: head coach Jeff Blashill (Ferris State) and assistant coaches Dan Bylsma (Bowling Green), John Hynes (Boston University) and Kevin Reiter (Alaska Anchorage). Former Hobey Baker winner Chris Drury (Boston University) is the U.S. general manager.

2019 U.S. Men’s National Team
No. Name Pos. NCAA Team
1 Cayden Primeau G Northeastern
9 Jack Eichel F Boston University
12 Alex DeBrincat F  
18 Chris Kreider F Boston College
19 Clayton Keller F Boston University
20 Ryan Suter D Wisconsin
25 James van Riemsdyk F New Hampshire
27 Alec Martinez D Miami
30 Thatcher Demko G Boston College
35 Cory Schneider G Boston College
36 Colin White F Boston College
41 Luke Glendening F Michigan
43 Quinn Hughes D Michigan
71 Dylan Larkin F Michigan
72 Frank Vatrano F Massachusetts
76 Brady Skjei D Minnesota
88 Patrick Kane F