Rivals Unite on U.S. Olympic Team
Twenty former college players will chase gold with Team USA in Sochi.

Ryan Kesler was a member of the CCHA All-Rookie Team while at Ohio State.

Fourteen NCAA hockey teams will have former players on the 2014 U.S. Men's Olympic Team, as 20 of the 25 players on Team USA developed in the NCAA ranks.

Among those selected are players who battled with and against each other for conference titles and Frozen Four glory. Twelve of the 20 selections combined for 17 Frozen Four appearances in their NCAA careers, with six of them winning national championships.

Wisconsin leads all NCAA schools with four former players. Minnesota (three) and North Dakota (two) also have multiple alums on the list, while Boston College, Boston University, Denver, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota State, New Hampshire and Ohio State have one each.

Ten of the Olympians were All-Americans during their NCAA careers. Goaltender Ryan Miller, who led the Americans to silver in 2010, is the lone Hobey Baker Award winner to make the team.

Former NCAA Players on the U.S. Olympic Team

Player Pos. NHL Team NCAA Team
Jimmy Howard G Detroit Maine
Ryan Miller G Buffalo Michigan State
Jonathan Quick G Los Angeles Massachusetts
Justin Faulk D Carolina Minnesota Duluth
Paul Martin D Pittsburgh Minnesota
Ryan McDonagh D NY Rangers Wisconsin
Brooks Orpik D Pittsburgh Boston College
Kevin Shattenkirk D St. Louis Boston University
Ryan Suter D Minnesota Wisconsin
David Backes F St. Louis Minnesota State
Ryan Kesler F Vancouver Ohio State
Phil Kessel F Toronto Minnesota
T.J. Oshie F St. Louis North Dakota
Max Pacioretty F Montreal Michigan
Zach Parise F Minnesota North Dakota
Joe Pavelski F San Jose Wisconsin
Paul Stastny F Colorado Denver
Derek Stepan F NY Rangers Wisconsin
James van Riemsdyk F Toronto New Hampshire
Blake Wheeler F Winnipeg Minnesota