2023 Conference Tournaments

The six Division I conferences each hold a postseason tournament to determine which team earns their automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Atlantic Hockey

Format: The top eight teams in the final Atlantic Hockey regular season standings will participate in the 2023 Atlantic Hockey Postseason. The AHA Quarterfinals will feature the No. 1 seed hosting the No. 8 seed, the No. 2 seed hosting the No. 7 seed, the No. 3 seed hosting the No. 6 seed and the No. 4 seed hosting the No. 5 seed in best-of-three series, March 3-5.

The AHA Semifinals will also be best-of-three series played at campus sites, March 10-12, with the highest advancing seed hosting the lowest advancing seed from the AHA Quarterfinals and second-highest advancing seed hosting the second-lowest advancing seed.

The two semifinal winners will advance to the Atlantic Hockey Championship Game, which will be a single game played on-campus at the highest remaining seed on March 18.

More Information: AtlanticHockeyOnline.com

Big Ten

Format: The 2023 Big Ten Tournament begins March 3-5 with best-of-three series at campus sites. The top seed will earn a first-round bye and the No. 2-4 seeds will host the first-round series. The No. 1 seed and the other highest remaining seed will host single-game semifinals on March 12 and the highest remaining seed will host the championship contest on March 18.

More Information: BigTen.org


Format: The top four teams following regular-season action will host the opening round of the CCHA Playoffs from March 3-5, with the winner of each best-of-three series advancing to the league semifinals. Both semifinals (March 11) and final (March 18) will be played as a single game at respective campus sites of the highest-seeded team. The famed Mason Cup will be presented to the CCHA playoff champions, who will receive an automatic qualification to the 16-team NCAA Tournament.

More Information: CCHA.com

ECAC Hockey

Format: Format: All 12 ECAC hockey programs will compete in the 2023 Men’s Hockey Championship. The 5-8 seeds will host 9-through-12 in a a one-game matchup the weekend of March 3-5. The advancing teams will be re-seeded and travel to the 1-4 seeds for quarterfinal best-of three-series the weekend of March 10-12. The semifinals will take place on March 17 followed by the championship game on March 18 at the historic Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, N.Y.

More Information: ecachockey.com

Hockey East

Format: The Hockey East Men’s Tournament remains an all-in format in 2023. Seeds six, seven, and eight will host seeds 11, 10, and nine, respectively, in the opening round set for Wednesday, March 8, 2023. After a reseeding, the top three seeds will host the winners of the opening round while the four seed will host the five seed in the quarterfinals on Saturday, March 11. The Hockey East Men’s Championship Semifinals and Final will return to the TD Garden in Boston on March 17-18, 2023.

More Information: HockeyEastOnline.com

National Collegiate Hockey Conference

Format: The 2023 NCHC Tournament will once again consist of four best-of-three quarterfinal series, held on campus sites, on the first weekend after regular-season play (March 10-12, 2023), followed by the Frozen Faceoff on March 17-18, 2023, at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn. The top four seeds host the bottom four seeds, with the four quarterfinal series winners advancing to the NCHC Frozen Faceoff for the two semifinal games on Friday, March 17. The championship game is then set for Saturday night, March 18.

More Information: NCHChockey.com