College Hockey Inc.
Dual winner Adam Fantilli headlines national award winners
Michigan freshman forward named country’s top player

Michigan freshman forward Adam Fantilli leads the nation in most offensive categories (Photo: Matt Dewkett)

TAMPA, Fla. – Michigan forward Adam Fantilli put the finishing touches on a dominant freshman season Friday when he was unveiled as the recipient of both the 2023 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, given annually to the top player in NCAA Division I men’s hockey, and the Tim Taylor National Rookie of the Year Award.

Fantilli, who was also named a first-team All-American, appeared in 36 games as a freshman and leads the nation in points (65) and points per game (1.81) while tying for the national lead in goals (30). The Nobleton, Ontario, native is universally expected to be one of the first skaters selected in this summer’s NHL Entry Draft.

Additionally, Northeastern sophomore goaltender Devon Levi became the first-ever repeat winner of the Mike Richter Award as the nation’s top goaltender. The Dollard des Ormeaux, Quebec, product, was also named a first-team All-American.

The announcements were televised live on NHL Network on Friday, the eve of the national championship game. The complete list of individual honorees:

  • Hobey Baker Award: Adam Fantilli, Michigan
  • Mike Richter Award: Devon Levi, Northeastern (second year in a row)
  • Hockey Humanitarian Award: Gabbie Hughes, Minnesota Duluth
  • Tim Taylor National Rookie of the Year: Adam Fantilli, Michigan
  • Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award: Noah Wilson, Army West Point
  • AHCA All-America Teams: listed below

Levi led the nation with a .933 save percentage in his 34 appearances, going 17-12-5 with a 2.24 goals against average and six shutouts. Levi, who hails from Dollard des Ormeaux, Quebec, made his NHL debut last Friday and has won two of his first three starts for the Buffalo Sabres.

Denver, Harvard, Minnesota and Quinnipiac each led the way with three All-America selections, with all three Minnesota players securing first-team honors. In all, 13 different schools placed at least one player on this year’s All-America team.

2022-23 CCM Hockey/AHCA Division I Men's All-American Hockey Teams
First Team East
Devon Levi, JR, Northeastern University*
(Dollard des Ormeaux, PQ)
Lane Hutson, FR, Boston University
(North Barrington, IL)
Henry Thrun, SR, Harvard University#
(Southborough, MA)
Sean Farrell, JR, Harvard University
(Hopkinton, MA)
Collin Graf, SO, Quinnipiac University
(Lincoln, MA)
Aidan McDonough, SR, Northeastern University*
(Milton, MA)
First Team West
Blake Pietila, SR, Michigan Tech
(Howell, MI)
Brock Faber, JR, University of Minnesota
(Maple Grove, MN)
Luke Hughes, SO, University of Michigan#
(Canton, MI)
Logan Cooley, FR, University of Minnesota
(Pittsburgh, PA)
Adam Fantilli, FR, University of Michigan
(Nobleton, ON)
Matthew Knies, SO, University of Minnesota
(Phoenix, AZ)
Second Team East
Yaniv Perets, SO, Quinnipiac University#
(Dollard des Ormeaux, PQ)
Sam Malinski, SR, Cornell University
(Lakeville, MN)
Zach Metsa, GR, Quinnipiac University*
(Delafield, WI)
Matt Brown, SR, Boston University
(Wood Ridge, NJ)
Matthew Coronato, SO, Harvard University
(Greenlawn, NY)
Alex Jefferies, JR, Merrimack College
(Lunenberg, MA)
Second Team West
Ryan Bischel, SR, University of Notre Dame
(Medina, MN)
Mike Benning, JR, University of Denver
(St. Albert, AB)
Jake Livingstone, JR, Minnesota State University
(Creston, BC)
Carter Mazur, SO, University of Denver
(Jackson, MI)
Jason Polin, SR, Western Michigan University
(Holt, MI)
Massimo Rizzo, SO, University of Denver
(Burnaby, BC)
* First Team in 2022
#Second Team in 2022


2023 Mike Richter Award Winner Devon Levi of Northeastern
2023 Tim Taylor Rookie of the Year Award Winner Adam Fantilli of Michigan
2023 Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award Winner Noah Wilson of Army West Point
2022-23 CCM/AHCA All-Americans