Nearly 50 with NCAA ties competing at 2023 World Championship
IIHF tourney begins today in Finland, Latvia

Northern Michigan F Kristoff Papp will represent his native Hungary (Photo: NMU Athletics).

Forty-six current and former NCAA men’s hockey players will compete in the 2023 International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) World Championship, which begins today in Finland and Latvia. Five of the 46 are current NCAA Division I players, including 2023 Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner Adam Fantilli of Michigan.

Twelve of the 16 competing countries will have NCAA representation, led by the United States (23), Germany (four) and Latvia (four). Twenty-six different NCAA teams will be represented during the tournament. Boston University leads with five past or present players, followed by Notre Dame and St. Cloud State with four each. Eleven schools will boast multiple players on tournament rosters.

The 2023 IIHF World Junior Championship takes place May 12-28 in Tampere, Finland, Riga, Latvia.

The tournament can be seen on NHL Network in the United States and on TSN in Canada. For more information, visit


F Peter Schneider, Notre Dame (2011-15)


F Adam Fantilli (Michigan, 2022-pres.)
G Devon Levi (Northeastern, 2021-23)
F Jack McBain (Boston College, 2018-22)


D Jacob Gammelgaard (Endicott College*, 2016-20)
D Oliver Lauridsen (St. Cloud State, 2008-11)
F Patrick Russell (St. Cloud State, 2014-16)


F Ahti Oksanen (Boston University, 2012-16)


F Justin Addamo (Robert Morris, 2018-21; RPI, 2021-22)
F Louis Boudon (Lake Superior State, 2019-23)
F Guillaume Leclerc (UMass Lowell, 2016-18)


F Wojciech Stachowiak (Michigan State, 2018-19)
F Nico Sturm (Clarkson, 2016-19)
F Frederik Tiffels (Western Michigan, 2014-17)
F Parker Tuomie (Minnesota State, 2016-20)


F Kristof Papp (Mich. St., 2020-22; Northern Mich. 2022-pres.)


D Arvils Bergmanis (Alaska, 2021-pres.)
D Karlis Cukste (Quinnipiac, 2016-20)
D Ralfs Freibergs (Bowling Green, 2012-14)
D Janis Jaks (American International, 2016-20)


F Ludvig Hoff (North Dakota, 2016-19)


F Luka Maver (American International, 2018-22)


D Christian Folin (UMass Lowell, 2012-14)


D Ronnie Attard (Western Michigan, 2019-22)
F Anders Bjork (Notre Dame, 2014-17)
F Nick Bonino (Boston University, 2007-10)
G Drew Commesso (Boston University, 2020-23)
F Matt Coronato (Harvard, 2021-23)
G Casey DeSmith (New Hampshire, 2011-14)
F Mikey Eyssimont (St. Cloud State, 2015-18)
F Sean Farrell (Harvard, 2021-23)
F Cutter Gauthier (Boston College, 2022-pres.)
F Rocco Grimaldi (North Dakota, 2011-14)
D Lane Hutson (Boston University, 2022-pres.)
D Connor Mackey (Minnesota State, 2017-20)
F Carter Mazur (Denver, 2021-23)
F Drew O’Connor (Dartmouth, 2018-20)
D Nick Perbix (St. Cloud State, 2018-22)
D Scott Perunovich (Minnesota Duluth, 2017-20)
G Cal Petersen (Notre Dame, 2014-17)
D Dylan Samberg (Minnesota Duluth, 2017-20)
D Henry Thrun (Harvard, 2019-20 & 2021-23)
F Alex Tuch (Boston College, 2014-16)
F Luke Tuch (Boston University, 2022-pres.)
F T.J. Tynan (Notre Dame, 2010-14)
F Sammy Walker (Minnesota, 2018-22)

* - indicates NCAA Division III
Current NCAA players are italicized