College Hockey Inc.
Cornell Captain Izzy Daniel Wins Patty Kazmaier Award
Senior Forward Also Garnered First-Team All-America Honors

Cornell senior F Izzy Daniel had 59 points in 39 games this season (Photo: Cornell Athletics).

DURHAM, N.H. – Cornell senior F Izzy Daniel made Big Red history Saturday afternoon, winning the 2024 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award as the top player in NCAA Division I women’s hockey, the first player in program history to capture the honor.

The announcement was made live on NHL Network.

Daniel amassed 21 goals and 59 points in 34 games this season, ranking third nationally in points per game (1.74). The Minneapolis, Minn., native, who captained the Big Red in 2023-24, also earned first-team All-America honors.

Earlier this week, Clarkson senior Michelle Pasiechnyk (Ottawa, Ontario) was named national goaltender of the year, while Ohio State freshman F Joy Dunne (O’Fallon, Mo.) received the Julie Chu National Rookie of the Year Award.

Pasiechnyk won games this season for the Golden Knights – tied for the most in the country -- while posting a 1.34 goals against average, .945 save percentage and eight shutouts. She also earned second-team All-America honors.

Dunne leads the Buckeyes in goals (23) heading into Sunday’s national title game and is the NCAA scoring leader among freshmen with 41 points in 38 contests.

Clarkson and Wisconsin each placed an NCAA-leading three players on the 2023-24 All-American Teams, with all three Badgers earned first-team honors. Colgate had two All-Americans, while Cornell, Northeastern, Ohio State, Penn State and Princeton had one each.

2023-24 CCM Hockey/AHCA Division I Women's All-American Hockey Teams
First Team
Gwyneth Philips, GR, Northeastern University*
(Athens, OH)
Nicole Gosling, SR, Clarkson University
(London, ON)
Caroline Harvey, SO, University of Wisconsin@
(Salem, NH)
Izzy Daniel, SR, Cornell University
(Minneapolis, MN)
Casey O'Brien, SR, University of Wisconsin
(Milton, MA)
Kirsten Simms, SO, University of Wisconsin
(Plymouth, MI)
Second Team
Michelle Pasiechnyk, SR, Clarkson University
(Ottawa, ON)
Cayla Barnes, GR, Ohio State University%
(Eastvale, CA)
Sydney Morrow, SO, Colgate University
(Darien, CT)
Haley Winn, JR, Clarkson University
(Rochester, NY)
Sarah Fillier, SR, Princeton University+&
(Georgetown, ON)
Tessa Janecke, SO, Penn State University
(Orangeville, IL)
Danielle Serdachny, GR, Colgate University*#
(Edmonton, AB)
* First Team in 2023
@ Second Team in 2023
# First Team in 2021
% Second Team in 2021
+ Second Team in 2020
& Second Team in 2019