College Hockey Inc.
Field Finalized for NCAA Division I Men’s Tournament
Four Regional Winners Will Advance to Frozen Four in Saint Paul

Hockey East champion Boston College is the No. 1 overall seed for the NCAA Tournament (Photo: Joe Sullivan).

The 16-team field was announced Sunday night for the 2024 NCAA Division I men’s hockey tournament, beginning the road to the NCAA Frozen Four in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Boston College, Boston University, Denver and Michigan State are the top four seeds in the tournament, which kicks off next weekend (March 28-31) at four regional sites. The winners from each regional will advance to the NCAA Frozen Four, which is set for April 11 and 13 at Xcel Energy Center.

No. 1 overall seed Boston College will face Michigan Tech at the Providence (R.I.) Regional, which also includes defending NCAA champion Quinnipiac:

  • No. 1 Boston College vs. No. 4 Michigan Tech (Friday @ 2 p.m. ET, ESPNU)
  • No. 2 Wisconsin vs. No. 3 Quinnipiac (Friday @ 5:30 p.m. ET, ESPNews)

Boston University is the No. 2 overall seed and was placed in the Sioux Falls (S.D.) Regional:

  • No. 1 Boston University vs. No. 4 RIT (Thursday @ 5 p.m. ET, ESPNU)
  • No. 2 Minnesota vs. No. 3 Omaha (Thursday @ 8:30 p.m., ESNPU)

No. 3 overall seed Denver is seeking a return visit to the Xcel Energy Center in April after winning the NCHC Frozen Faceoff there this past weekend. DU will meet UMass in the Springfield (Mass.) Regional:

  • No. 1 Denver vs. No. 4 UMass (Thursday @ 2 p.m. ET, ESPN2)
  • No. 2 Maine vs. No. 3 Cornell (Thursday @ 5:30 p.m. ET, ESPNews)

Michigan State claimed the No. 4 seed after winning the Big Ten Tournament and will face in-state foe Western Michigan at the Maryland Heights (Mo.) Regional:

  • No. 1 Michigan State vs. No. 4 Western Michigan (Friday @ 5 p.m. ET, ESPNU)
  • No. 2 North Dakota vs. No. 3 Michigan (Friday @ 8:30 p.m. ET, ESPNU)

Click HERE to view the full bracket. For more information, visit