College Hockey Inc.
IIHF Men’s Worlds Features Nearly 60 NCAA Players, Alums
16-Day Tourney Gets Underway Friday in Czechia

St. Lawrence scoring leader Felikss Gavars will represent Latvia at the World Championship (Photo: C A Hill Photo).

Fifty-nine current and former NCAA men’s hockey players will compete in the 2024 International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) Men’s World Championship, which begins Friday in Czechia. Nine of the 59 are active NCAA Division I players, including 2024 NCAA scoring leader and Boston College forward Will Smith

Eleven of the 16 competing countries will have NCAA representation, led by the United States (23), Latvia (10), Great Britain (six), Canada (five) and Germany (five). Thirty different NCAA schools will be represented during the tournament. Boston College leads with seven past or present players, one of 14 schools with multiple players.

A pair of former Hobey Baker Award winners – Cole Caufield (Wisconsin, 2021) and Johnny Gaudreau (Boston College, 2014) – will suit up for the United States.

The 2024 IIHF World Junior Championship takes place May 10-26 in Prague and Ostrava, Czechia. The tournament can be seen on NHL Network in the United States and on TSN in Canada. For more information, visit


F Emilio Romig (Denver)


F Jack McBain (Boston College)
D Jamie Oleksiak (Northeastern)
D Colton Parayko (Alaska)
D Owen Power (Michigan)
F Brandon Tanev (Providence)


F Jáchym Kondelík (UConn)


D Oliver Lauridsen (St. Cloud State)
F Patrick Russell (St. Cloud State)


D Oliwer Kaski (Western Michigan)
D Jesper Mattila (Boston College)
F Ahti Oksanen (Boston University)


F Louis Boudon (Lake Superior State)
F Stéphane Da Costa (Merrimack)


D Lukas Kälble (Clarkson, Lake Superior State)
F Marc Michaelis (Minnesota State)
F Nico Sturm (Clarkson)
F Frederik Tiffels (Western Michigan)
F Parker Tuomie (Minnesota State)


D Lucas Brine (Arcadia*)
F Johnny Curran (Niagara)
F Ben Lake (Sacred Heart)
D Evan Mosey (Minnesota State)
F Cade Neilson (Michigan Tech)
F Brett Perlini (Michigan State)


D Arvils Bergmanis (Alaska)
D Kārlis Čukste (Quinnipiac)
F Haralds Egle (Clarkson)
D Ralfs Freibergs (Bowling Green)
F Felikss Gavars (St. Lawrence)
D Jānis Jaks (American International)
D Markuss Komuls (Alaska)
F Marty Lavins (New Hampshire)
F Dans Ločmelis (UMass)
F Eduards Tralmaks (Maine)


G Matej Tomek (Omaha, North Dakota)


G Trey Augustine (Michigan State)
F Matt Boldy (Boston College)
F Cole Caufield (Wisconsin)
F Mikey Eyssimont (St. Cloud State)
F Joel Farabee (Boston University)
F Johnny Gaudreau (Boston College)
F Kevin Hayes (Boston College)
D Luke Hughes (Michigan)
D Matthew Kessel (UMass)
D Michael Kesselring (Northeastern)
F Luke Kunin (Wisconsin)
F Dylan Larkin (Michigan)
F Ryan Leonard (Boston College)
G Alex Lyon (Yale)
F Brock Nelson (North Dakota)
D Jeff Petry (Michigan State)
F Shane Pinto (North Dakota)
D Jake Sanderson (North Dakota)
F Will Smith (Boston College)
F Brady Tkachuk (Boston University)
D Alex Vlasic (Boston University)
D Zach Werenski (Michigan)
F Trevor Zegras (Boston University)

Current NCAA players are italicized
* - indicates Division III